Scholarship Information

Through its donors, The Laredo Area Community Foundation  helps students achieve their educational dreams.  Each fund has its own criteria and application, based on the donor’s interest. Some scholarship funds are for a specific area of study while others are for students representing the first generation in their family to pursue higher education.  Applications will open in December of each year.


Below is a list of the various LACF supported scholarships. Click the link for more information.

With only a high school education, Chicago native Ernest H. Mendelsohn established a very successful wholesale electronics business. In the early 1970’s Ernest and his wife Hannah, retired to Zapata, TX, to escape the harsh winters of Chicago. The Mendelsohns soon fell in love with the people of South Texas and embrace it as it second home. Upon his wife’s death, Ernest established a scholarship fund in loving tribute to her.

Two graduating seniors from Zapata High School receive a four (4) year scholarship of $4000 to the college of their choice.

Click Here to Download Application

Realizing that economically disadvantaged students who lack college education role models and reinforcement at home were at risk, Hank and Elizabeth Sames established a professor mentorship program at TAMIU and a four year scholarship program with United Independent School District. Each year, eight (8) rising sophomores who are first generation college-bound, benefit from the mentoring and upon graduation receive a four year scholarship of $4000 to TAMIU.

Students must maintain an academic GPA of 3.5 or better, adhere to UISD’s code of conduct and be accepted to TAMIU.

Click Here to Download Application

Drs. Gladys and Roger Keene, parents of the late Dr. Marissa Keene established a tuition assistance scholarship in her honor for deserving students attending St. Augustine High School and college. St. Augustine High School allowed Marissa, as a student and athlete, to reach deep within herself to ultimately succeed and find happiness as a devoted mother and physician. This award preserves Marissa Keene’s legacy promoting the spirit of hope through education. Applications are available from the St. Augustine High School. counselor for both types of awards.

Apply directly at St. Augustine High School

Mr. & Mrs. Lester Avigael established a tuition assistance scholarship at United Day School in their names. The Avigaels had been avid supporters of the school while their children and grandchildren attended the school and wanted to continue stimulating the growth of UDS with deserving students. Scholarship applications for economically disadvantaged families are available through UDS counselor. Students are selected by the LACF Scholarship Committee. Two $2,400 scholarships are rewarded annually.

Apply directly at United Day School.

In 2012, the Women’s City Club decided to meet the needs of teachers in our community and created a scholarship to education majors at Laredo  College. Sophomores are selected by the LACF Scholarship Committee.

Applications available at Laredo College.

Cotulla resident, Mary Martin, set up this scholarship for graduating students from Cotulla High School. Students are selected by the LACF Scholarship Committee.

Click Here to Download Application

Stewart K. Martin Scholarship was established, by his daughter Melissa Peters, for graduates of Cotulla High School attending college. The late Stewart Martin, owner of the iconic Ben’s Western Wear in Cotulla, TX, had a commitment to growth and development of Cotulla. Students giving back to his beloved community by actively serving its needs are selected by the LACF Scholarship Committee. Applications are available on line.

SKM Memorial Scholarship Application MEL III[13806]